Louisville Slugger The Official Bat of Major League Baseball
Baseball Fastpitch Softball Slowpitch Softball Shop Now


PRESS BOX / Press Releases


First-time honors for seven of 18; Guerrero wins 8th award, and Pujols wins his 6th

LOUISVILLE, KY (November 11, 2010) –Louisville Slugger®, celebrating 126 years in baseball this season, proudly announced the 2010 Silver Slugger™ Award winners tonight in a special hour-long telecast on MLB Network, hosted by former MLB All-Star Harold Reynolds and Greg Amsinger.

Albert Pujols of the St. Louis Cardinals picked up his sixth Silver Slugger Award at first base in the National League, while Vladimir Guerrero of the American League's Texas Rangers snagged his eighth award, his first as designated hitter. The Braves' Brian McCann earned his fourth award at catcher in the NL and the Twins' Joe Mauer obtained his fourth award, also at catcher, in the AL. Matt Holliday of the St. Louis Cardinals also picked up his fourth award in the outfield.

The Silver Slugger award winners were determined by a vote of Major League Baseball coaches and managers who named the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National Leagues in 2010. Selections were based on a combination of offensive statistics including batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as the coaches' and managers' general impressions of a player's overall offensive value. Managers and coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own team.

Tabulation of the balloting was verified by the accounting firm of Mountjoy Chilton Medley LLP.

Among the teams represented by this year's winners, the Colorado Rockies, the Texas Rangers, the Milwaukee Brewers and the St. Louis Cardinals each had two members. The Rockies had two first-time winners, Troy Tulowitzki at SS and Carlos Gonzalez in the outfield, and the Rangers had second-time winner Josh Hamilton in the outfield and the aforementioned 8-time-winner Guerrero at DH. The Brewers' Yovani Gallardo acquired his first award at pitcher and Ryan Braun gained a spot as an outfielder. Braun's award was his third in as many years.

The Cardinals also had two team members represented – Holliday with his fourth award in the outfield position in addition to Pujols' sixth award at first base.

Three of the six outfield selections were first-time Silver Slugger winners – Jose Bautista of the Toronto Blue Jays, Carl Crawford of the Tampa Bay Rays, and Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies.

Other first-time winners were Alexei Ramirez of the Chicago White Sox at shortstop for the AL and Dan Uggla from the Florida Marlins at second base for the NL.

The remaining infield selections for the American League include: Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers, who captured his third award (his first at first base); Robinson Cano of the New York Yankees, who received his second award for second base; and Adrian Beltre of the Boston Red Sox at third base, who earned his second award – his last Silver Slugger was in 2004 with the Dodgers.

Ryan Zimmerman of the Washington Nationals secured his second award at third base for the National League.

2010 Silver Slugger Winners

American League
1B – Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers
2B – Robinson Cano, New York Yankees
3B – Adrian Beltre, Boston Red Sox
SS – Alexei Ramirez, Chicago White Sox
OF – Jose Bautista, Toronto Blue Jays
OF – Carl Crawford, Tampa Bay Rays
OF – Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers
C – Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins
DH - Vladimir Guerrero, Texas Rangers

National League
1B – Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals
2B – Dan Uggla, Florida Marlins
3B – Ryan Zimmerman, Washington Nationals
SS – Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado Rockies
OF – Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers
OF – Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado Rockies
OF – Matt Holliday, St. Louis Cardinals
C – Brian McCann, Atlanta Braves
P – Yovani Gallardo, Milwaukee Brewers

All 18 awards were in the studio for the Silver Slugger Award Show on MLB Network, and this is the first time all 18 awards have ever been displayed collectively outside of the Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory. Each trophy is three feet tall and bears the engraved name of the winner and his Silver Slugger teammates in his respective league. After the 2010 Silver Slugger Award Show airs, the awards will be sent back to Louisville where the public can see all 18 on display over the winter at Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory. In a ceremony early in the 2011 season, the specially designed Silver Slugger Award will be presented to each player by a representative of the Hillerich & Bradsby Co., makers of Louisville Slugger, the Official Bat of Major League Baseball.

The Silver Slugger Award was instituted by Louisville Slugger in 1980 as a natural extension of the Silver Bat Award, which is – as its name indicates – a silver-plated bat presented by Louisville Slugger to the batting champions in the AL and NL. This year's Silver Bat Award winners are Josh Hamilton of the Texas Rangers and Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies. Hamilton hit .359 for the Rangers to claim the AL honor. Gonzalez won the NL batting title with a .336 average.

Both will receive their Silver Bat Awards in on-field presentations early in the 2011 season.

- more press releases -


© Copyright Hillerich & Bradsby, All Rights Reserved.