Louisville Slugger The Official Bat of Major League Baseball
Baseball Fastpitch Softball Slowpitch Softball Shop Now


PRESS BOX / Press Releases


First-time honors for nine of 18; Ortiz and McCann each get their fifth

LOUISVILLE, KY   Louisville Slugger®, the number-one bat in Major League Baseball®, proudly announced the 2011 Silver Slugger™ Award winners tonight in a special hour-long telecast on MLB Network, hosted by Matt Vasgersian and former MLB All-Star Harold Reynolds.

Nine of the 18 team members were recognized as Silver Slugger winners for the first time. Two players made the team for the fifth time the American League’s designated hitter David Ortiz of the Red Sox and the National League’s Brian McCann, catcher for the Braves.

The Silver Slugger award winners were determined by a vote of Major League Baseball coaches and managers who named the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National leagues in 2011. Selections were based on a combination of offensive statistics, including batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as the coaches’ and managers’ general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value.  Managers and coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own teams.

Tabulation of the balloting was verified by the accounting firm of Mountjoy Chilton Medley LLP.

Among the teams represented by this year’s winners, the Red Sox, Yankees, Brewers and Diamondbacks each had multiple Silver Slugger team members. The Red Sox have three members on the American League team – Adrian Gonzalez with his first award at first base; Jacoby Ellsbury in the outfield (also his first award); and the previously mentioned David Ortiz, who received his fifth award at DH. Ortiz’s last Silver Slugger award was in 2007. The Yankees had two winners – Robinson Cano at second base (his third award), and Curtis Granderson in the outfield (his first award).

For the National League, the Brewers’ Prince Fielder received his second award at first base and Ryan Braun was recognized in the outfield. Braun has been a member of the Silver Slugger team a total of four times in the past four years. The Diamondbacks had two first-time award winners – Justin Upton in the outfield and Daniel Hudson at pitcher.
Other first-time members of the team included: Asdrubal Cabrera of the Cleveland Indians at shortstop and Alex Avila of the Detroit Tigers at catcher for the AL. The remaining first-timers included Brandon Phillips of the Cincinnati Reds at second base and Aramis Ramirez of the Chicago Cubs at third base for the NL.
The remaining team selections for the AL included: Adrian Beltre of the Rangers at third base (his third Silver Slugger award) and Jose Bautista of the Blue Jays in the outfield (his second award).

The NL recognized Troy Tulowitzki of the Rockies for a second time at shortstop and Matt Kemp of the Dodgers for the second time in the outfield.
2011 Silver Slugger Winners

American League
1B  – Adrian Gonzalez, Boston Red Sox
2B  – Robinson Cano, New York Yankees
3B – Adrian Beltre, Texas Rangers
SS  – Asdrubal Cabrera, Cleveland Indians
OF – Curtis Granderson, New York Yankees
OF – Jose Bautista, Toronto Blue Jays
OF – Jacoby Ellsbury, Boston Red Sox
C    –    Alex Avila, Detroit Tigers
DH David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox

National League
1B  – Prince Fielder, Milwaukee Brewers
2B – Brandon Phillips, Cincinnati Reds
3B – Aramis Ramirez, Chicago Cubs
SS  – Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado Rockies
OF – Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers
OF – Matt Kemp, Los Angeles Dodgers
OF – Justin Upton, Arizona Diamondbacks
C    –    Brian McCann, Atlanta Braves
P    – Daniel Hudson, Arizona Diamondbacks

 All 18 awards were in the studio for the Silver Slugger Award Show on MLB Network. Each trophy is three feet tall and bears the engraved name of the winner and his Silver Slugger teammates in his respective league. After the 2011 Silver Slugger Award Show, the awards will be sent back to Louisville where the public can see all 18 on display over the winter at Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory. In a ceremony early in the 2012 season, the specially designed Silver Slugger Award will be presented to each player by a representative of the Hillerich & Bradsby Co., makers of Louisville Slugger, the Official Bat of Major League Baseball.

The Silver Slugger Award was instituted by Louisville Slugger in 1980 as a natural extension of the Silver Bat Award, which is – as its name indicates – a silver-plated bat presented by Louisville Slugger to the batting champions in the AL and NL. This year’s Silver Bat Award winners are Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers and Jose Reyes of the New York Mets.  Cabrera hit .344 to claim the AL honor. Reyes won the NL batting title with a .337 average.

Both will receive their Silver Bat Awards in on-field presentations early in the 2011 season.

About Louisville Slugger®
Louisville Slugger® is the Official Bat of Major League Baseball® and is a name that is synonymous with America’s pastime.  Originating in 1884, Louisville Slugger bats graced the hands of the greatest players in baseball history, including Babe Ruth, Ted Williams, Joe DiMaggio, Stan Musial, Jackie Robinson and Hank Aaron, to name just a few.  Stars of today also swing Louisville Slugger bats, including Alex Rodriguez, Buster Posey, Lance Berkman and Troy Tulowitzki.  Louisville Slugger also makes TPX® baseball equipment for college, high school and youth players, as well as TPS® equipment for slow-pitch and fastpitch softball players.  Louisville Slugger is a brand of the Hillerich & Bradsby Co., a fifth-generation family-owned business that also owns and operates Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory and makes  PowerBilt® golf clubs and Bionic® Gloves for a variety of sports and hobbies.

- more press releases -


© Copyright Hillerich & Bradsby, All Rights Reserved.