Louisville Slugger The Official Bat of Major League Baseball
Baseball Fastpitch Softball Slowpitch Softball Shop Now


PRESS BOX / Press Releases


Who Will Win the Coveted Hitting Awards This Year? Winners Will Be Announced Live on MLB Network on November 8

Silver Slugger AwardLOUISVILLE, KY (September 13, 2012) –In baseball, silver is as good as gold. And with the 2012
Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Ballots now in the hands of MLB® coaches and managers, baseball players and fans alike are left speculating who will be awarded the most sought-after hardware for offensive prowess in the American and National Leagues.

Here’s how it works: Each Major League team receives blank ballots from Louisville Slugger, the number one bat in MLB. Clubs get four votes each and are asked to select the players they feel are the best offensive producers at each position in their league. Selections are based on a combination of offensive statistics, including batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as the coaches’ and managers’ general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value.  While managers and coaches vote for players in their respective leagues, they are not allowed to vote for players on their own teams. Louisville Slugger requests the ballots be returned by the end of September. Votes are affirmed by a third party, the independent accounting firm of Mountjoy Chilton Medley.  For the fourth consecutive year, award winners will be announced on MLB Network on November 8 live at 6:00 p.m. ET.

The Silver Slugger awards are the most prestigious offensive awards in Major League Baseball. Louisville Slugger created them in 1980, as a natural extension of the Silver Bat Award, which is presented to the batting champions in the AL and NL.

Below are players who are already generating buzz of possibly winning 2012 Silver Slugger awards:

1st Base – American League
Prince Fielder, Detroit Tigers*
Albert Pujols, Los Angeles Angels*
Mark Teixeira, New York Yankees
Paul Konerko, Chicago White Sox

1st Base – National League
Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds
Adam LaRoche, Washington Nationals
Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks
Corey Hart, Milwaukee Brewers

2nd Base – American League
Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red Sox*
Robinson Cano, New York Yankees*
Ian Kinsler, Texas Rangers

2nd Base – National League
Aaron Hill, Arizona Diamondbacks*
Neil Walker, Pittsburgh Pirates
Brandon Phillips, Cincinnati Reds*

SS – American League
Derek Jeter, New York Yankees*
Elvis Andrus, Texas Rangers
Alexei Ramirez, Chicago White Sox*
Alcides Escobar, Kansas City Royals

SS – National League
Jose Reyes, Miami Marlins*
Starlin Castro, Chicago Cubs
Ian Desmond, Washington Nationals
Hanley Ramirez, Los Angeles Dodgers*

Outfield – American League
Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers*
Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels
Josh Willingham, Minnesota Twins
Alex Rios, Chicago White Sox
David Murphy, Texas Rangers

Outfield – National League
Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers*
Matt Holliday, St. Louis Cardinals*
Jay Bruce, Cincinnati Reds
Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado Rockies*

*Indicates a past Silver Slugger winner

About Louisville Slugger®
Louisville Slugger® is the Official Bat of Major League Baseball and is a name that is synonymous with America’s pastime.  Originating in 1884, Louisville Slugger bats have graced the hands of the greatest players in baseball history, including Babe Ruth, Ted Williams, Joe DiMaggio, Stan Musial, Jackie Robinson and Hank Aaron, to name just a few.  Stars of today also swing Louisville Slugger bats, including Derek Jeter, Andre Ethier, Joey Votto and Dustin Pedroia.  Louisville Slugger also makes TPX® baseball equipment for college, high school and youth players, as well as TPS® equipment for slow-pitch and fastpitch softball players.  Louisville Slugger is a brand of the Hillerich & Bradsby Co., a fifth-generation family-owned business that also owns and operates Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory and makes PowerBilt® golf clubs and Bionic® Gloves for a variety of sports and hobbies.

- more press releases -


© Copyright Hillerich & Bradsby, All Rights Reserved.