Louisville Slugger The Official Bat of Major League Baseball
Baseball Fastpitch Softball Slowpitch Softball Shop Now


PRESS BOX / Press Releases


First-time honors for 9 of 18, Big Papi wins his sixth!

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Nov. 6, 2013) – Louisville Slugger®, the number-one bat in Major League Baseball®, proudly announced the 2013 Silver Slugger™ Award winners tonight in a special hour-long telecast exclusively on MLB Network, hosted by Matt Yallof and Bill Ripken.

Nine of the 18 team members are first-time Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Award winners, including American League home run champion Chris Davis and National League home run leader Pedro Alvarez, both picking up their first awards. Meanwhile, World Series MVP David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox picked up his sixth Silver Slugger Award, and AL batting champion Miguel Cabrera, Robinson Cano and Joe Mauer all won Silver Sluggers for the fifth time each.

The Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Award winners were determined by a vote of Major League Baseball managers and coaches who selected the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National Leagues in 2013. Selections were based on a combination of offensive statistics, including batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, as well as the managers’ and coaches’ general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value. Managers and coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own teams. Tabulation of the balloting was verified by the accounting firm of Mountjoy Chilton Medley LLP.

Among the teams represented by this year’s winners, the Orioles, Cardinals, Pirates and Tigers each had multiple Silver Slugger Award winners. Baltimore’s three winners were the most of any team with Davis getting the Silver Slugger Award at first base, J.J. Hardy at shortstop, and Adam Jones among the outfield winners in the American League. Like Davis, Hardy and Jones are also first-time winners.

Two Cardinals, Matt Carpenter at second base and Yadier Molina at catcher, were first-time winners in the NL. Alvarez and Andrew McCutchen, the latter with his second award, gave the Pirates multiple winners while Cabrera and Torii Hunter gave the Tigers two Silver Slugger Awards. Hunter’s is his second.

Other first-time winners are NL batting champ Michael Cuddyer of the Rockies in the outfield, Paul Goldschmidt of the Diamondbacks at first base, and Zack Greinke at pitcher with the Dodgers who proved he’s a threat at the plate.

Other Silver Slugger Award winners include: Mike Trout of the Angels, Jay Bruce of the Reds and Ian Desmond of the Nationals, all second-time winners.

2013 Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Winners

American League
1B – Chris Davis, Baltimore Orioles
2B – Robinson Cano, New York Yankees
3B – Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers
SS – J.J. Hardy, Baltimore Orioles
OF – Mike Trout, L.A. Angels
OF – Torii Hunter, Detroit Tigers
OF – Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles
C – Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins
DH – David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox

National League
1B – Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks
2B – Matt Carpenter, St. Louis Cardinals
3B – Pedro Alvarez, Pittsburgh Pirates
SS – Ian Desmond, Washington Nationals
OF – Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates
OF – Michael Cuddyer, Colorado Rockies
OF – Jay Bruce, Cincinnati Reds
C – Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals
P – Zack Greinke, Los Angeles Dodgers


All 18 awards were inside MLB Network’s Studio 42 for the Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Award Show. Each trophy is three-feet tall and bears the engraved name of the winner and his Silver Slugger teammates in his respective league. After the 2013 Silver Slugger Award Show, the awards will be sent back to Louisville where the public can see all 18 on display over the winter at Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory. The specially designed Silver Slugger Awards will be presented to each player in on-field ceremonies early in the 2014 season.


The Silver Slugger Award was instituted by Louisville Slugger in 1980 as a natural extension of the Silver Bat Award, which is – as its name indicates – a silver-plated bat presented by Louisville Slugger to the batting champions in the AL and NL. This year’s Silver Bat Award winners are Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers and Michael Cuddyer of the Colorado Rockies. Cabrera hit .348 to claim the AL batting title. Cuddyer won the NL batting title with a .331 average.

Both will receive their Silver Bat Awards from a representative of Louisville Slugger in on-field presentations in the spring of 2014. Louisville Slugger initiated the Silver Bat in 1949, with the awards going to the players with the highest batting average in the American and National Leagues. The storied company has presented the award to each leagues’ batting champion every year since.

About Louisville Slugger
Louisville Slugger® is the Official Bat of Major League Baseball® and the #1 name in baseball for 129 years. Louisville Slugger is synonymous with America’s pastime. Originating in 1884, Louisville Slugger bats have graced the hands of the greatest players through history, including stars of today and more than 80% of the hitters in Cooperstown. Louisville Slugger continues to innovate and provide players the products and confidence they need to leave their marks on the game.

- more press releases -


© Copyright Hillerich & Bradsby, All Rights Reserved.