Louisville Slugger The Official Bat of Major League Baseball
Baseball Fastpitch Softball Slowpitch Softball Shop Now


PRESS BOX / Press Releases


2009 Louisville Slugger® Silver Slugger™ Ballots Distributed

LOUISVILLE, Ky. (August 20, 2009) –Louisville Slugger® Silver Slugger™ Award ballots are now in the hands of Major League Baseball® managers and coaches and this year could be the most interesting voting for the awards to date.  Skippers and coaching staffs for each Major League team will select the players they feel are the best offensive producers at each position in both the American and National Leagues in 2009.  Ballots are expected back within the next few weeks. The award winners will be announced at the end of the season.
Selections are based on a combination of offensive statistics including batting average, on-base percentage, and slugging percentage, as well as the coaches’ and managers’ general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value.  Managers and coaches vote for players in their respective leagues and are not allowed to vote for players on their own team.
Potential players to win 2009 Silver Slugger awards include:

1st Base-National League
Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals*
Prince Fielder, Milwaukee Brewers*
Ryan Howard, Philadelphia Phillies*
Adrian Gonzalez, San Diego Padres

1st Base-American League
Justin Morneau, Minnesota Twins*
Mark Teixeira, New York Yankees*
Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers

2nd Base-National League
Chase Utley, Philadelphia Phillies*
Brandon Phillips, Cincinnati Reds
Orlando Hudson, Los Angeles Dodgers

2nd Base-American League
Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red Sox*
Aaron Hill, Toronto Blue Jays
Robinson Cano, New York Yankees*
Ian Kensler, Texas Rangers
Brian Roberts, Baltimore Orioles

SS-National League
Hanley Ramirez, Florida Marlins*
Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado Rockies
Jimmy Rollins, Philadelphia Phillies*
Miguel Tejada, Houston Astros

SS-American League
Derek Jeter, New York Yankees*
Michael Young, Texas Rangers
Jason Bartlett, Tampa Bay Devil Rays

3rd Base –National League
Mark Reynolds, Arizona Diamondbacks
Ryan Zimmerman, Washington Nationals
David Wright, New York Mets*
Chipper Jones, Atlanta Braves*
Pablo Sandoval, San Francisco Giants

3rd Base-American League
Evan Longoria, Tampa Bay Devil Rays
Chone Figgins, Anaheim Angels
Alex Rodriguez, New York Yankees*

Catcher-National League
Brian McCann, Atlanta Braves*
Bengie Molina, San Francisco Giants
Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals

Catcher-American League
Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins*
Victor Martinez, Boston Red Sox*
A.J. Pierzynski, Chicago White Sox
Kurt Suzuki, Oakland Athletics
Mike Napoli, Los Angeles Angels

Outfield-National League
Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers*
Andre Either, Los Angeles Dodgers
Carl Crawford, Tampa Bay Devil Rays
Matt Holliday, St. Louis Cardinals*
Adam Dunn, Washington Nationals
Shane Victorino, Philadelphia Phillies
Matt Kemp, Los Angeles Dodgers
Carlos Lee, Houston Astros*
Justin Upton, Arizona Diamondbacks
Raul Ibanez, Philadelphia Phillies
Jayson Werth, Philadelphia Phillies

Outfield-American League
Bobby Abreau, Anaheim Angels
Jason Bay, Boston Red Sox
Nick Markakis, Baltimore Orioles
Ichiro Suzuki, Seattle Mariners*
Curtis Granderson, Detroit Tigers
Adam Lind, Toronto Blue Jays
Shin-Soo Choo, Cleveland Indians
Kendry Morales, Anaheim Angels
Jacoby Ellsbury, Boston Red Sox
Johnny Damon, New York Yankees
Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles

Pitchers-National League
Tim Lincecum, San Francisco
Carlos Zambrano, Chicago Cubs*
Chris Carpenter, St. Louis Cardinals

DH-American League
Aubrey Huff, Detroit Tigers*
David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox*
Adam Lind, Toronto Blue Jays

*Indicates a past Silver Slugger winner

- more press releases -


© Copyright Hillerich & Bradsby, All Rights Reserved.